The PMPC Logo
Advisory Board
Supporting Organizations
Key Deadlines
Conference Schedule
Conference Registration
Call for papers
Program Committee
Contact Us
Padma Shri Dr. Kota Harinarayana

Dr Kota HarinarayanaPadma Shri Dr. Kota Harinarayana
Raja Ramanna Fellow, NAL
Former Programme Director & Chief Designer of LCA
Former Vice-Chancellor of Univ. of Hyderabad

Dr. Kota Harinarayana was born in Berhampur, Orissa, in 1943 and graduated from BHU in Mechanical Engineering, post-graduate in Aero Engineering at IISc, Bangalore. He did his Ph.D. at IIT Bombay and also he is holding a Bachelor’s degree in Law.

He started his career in 1967 at HAL. He moved to DRDO HQ in 1970 till 1982 and held various positions. He rejoined HAL in 1982 as Chief Designer in Nasik Division. He was deputed to DRDO in 1985 and assumed charge as Director, ADE, Bangalore. He was appointed as LCA Programme Director in December 1985 and he was concurrently holding the post of Director, ADE till June 1986. During 1995 he was elevated as Distinguished Scientist by DRDO. As Programme Director and Chief Designer of Light Combat Aircraft, he successfully directed the project leading to flight testing and clearance for limited series production. Thanks to his efforts, India succeeded in developing a state-of-art, high technology fighter aircraft of world class.

He is the Fellow of Aeronautical Society of India (former President of the Society) and Indian National Academy of Engineering. He received distinguished alumnus award from Aerospace Department, IISc in 1993 and from IIT Bombay in 1995. He was awarded National Aeronautics Prize and FIE Foundation Award in 1996. He received SBI-Pragna Puraskar in 2001. He received the Dr. Y. Nayudamma Memorial Award for 2001. He received the DRDO Technology Leadership Award for 2001. He was honoured with Padma Shri by Government of India in 2002. He received Gujar Mal Modi Science foundation award for the year 2006.

At present he is the Raja Ramanna Fellow at National Aerospace Laboratories, Bangalore. He was formerly Vice-Chancellor of University of Hyderabad till 15 July, 2005. He is also Chairman, Research Council, Central Scientific Instruments Organisation (CSIO), Chandigarh; Chairman, Governing Council, Society for Indo-German Institute of Advanced Technology, Visakhapatnam, Distinguished Guest Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering, IIT-Bombay.


< Back to Speakers list   

Key Speakers
Mr. S. Gopalakrishnan
Mr. K. Jai Raj
Dr. Kota Harinarayana
Mr. Ramesh Emani
Track Key Note
Mr. Ajay Parasrampuria
Mr. Rajeev Nanda
Panel Discussion
Mr. Parthasarathy N.S.
Wg. Cdr. A.E. Patrawalla
Mr. S. Chandrashekar
Mr. Neelakantan
Dr. R.K. Ramanathan
Mr. Prashanth Prakash
Mr. Rajeev Vijayan
Mr. C.S. Rajan